Skip to main content


Board of Directors:


Phil Gay, CEO and Fair Director

Wendy Gay, VP of School Relations


Management Committee 2017-2018


Mrs. Arwa Alkhawaja, Islamic School of San Diego, Teacher

Mrs. Rose Armor

Mr. Mark Atkins, ACE Parking

Mrs. Lucy Chen

Mr. Dale Clarke, Mirum

Ms. Vickie Driver, Zim Biosciences

Mrs. Kimberly Ferguson, Roche Diagnostics

Mr. Sam Ferguson, University of San Diego, Student

Mr. Chris Guentner

Mr. Kevin Guentner, Estate Sales

Mr. Brandon Haberle, Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

Dr. James Kuo, Athena Bioventures

Mrs. Zie Nie

Mrs. Janet Nordeen, Retired Science Teacher, Escondido Union School District

Mr. Larry Nordell, Marine Technology Society

Dr. Sabine Ottilie, UCSD

Mrs. Sejal Pabari

Mr. Dan Pankau, Retired Engineer

Mrs. Maria Pankau

Mr. William Proffer, Leidos

Mrs. Jelen Rodecker, SDSEA

Mr. Steve Rodecker, San Diego Science Educators Association, Retired Teacher, Sweetwater Union HSD

Dr. Peter Salamon, SDSU

Mrs. Donna Silverstein, UCSD

Mr. Hal Slater

Mrs. Alyson Smith, Scripps Research Institute

Mr. Douglas Smith, Leidos

Ms. Adina Sobo, Morse High School

Mrs. Donna Spevack

Mrs. Jessica Ullyot, San Diego City Schools

Mrs. Diane Vermeulen, Professional Engineers in California Government

Mrs. Maryanna Quon Warner, Escondido Union School District, Retired Science Teacher

Mr. True Xiong, Sony Playstation

Ms. Qun Wei

Mr. Sany Zakharia, Qualcomm


SAB Management Committee Members:



The Management Committee is a group of volunteers who give their time and expertise to produce the Greater San Diego Science & Engineering Fair.